Beauty · cruelty free · Review · vegan

Frugal Find Friday (E.L.F. HD Mattifying Cream Foundation) 

This Fridays frugal find is from E.L.F. Cosmetics. I was looking for something quick and easy to apply for those days I only have a second to get ready and out the door. Aka, being a mom. I stumbled across this find at my local Target for $6 and picked the lightest shade “porcelain”. See pictures and full review below. 

This shade is a close match but a little more yellow, which is fine because it cancels out the redness in my face. Now this product claims to be a cream to powder with a matte finish that controls oil. I don’t think of any of these claims are true. The texture is actually satin to dewy but I have oily skin so maybe it’s different on dry skin. So I applied powder to set the foundation but by the end of the day I was pretty shiny. Mattifying powder definitely needs to be reapplied later in the day. However it looks pretty natural. It just depends what look you are going for. 

What I do love is the coverage. This is full on coverage! Only a very small amount is needed. I just used a disposable sponge and swiped a small amount on my nose, chin, forehead and a little on my cheeks to cover acne scars. It barely took any product to cover everything. If your really in a hurry you can even apply under your eyes to hide dark circles. Then I just set with powder and I’m done. That’s another thing I love about this foundation, it’s really easy and quick to apply so I get out the door fast. Perfect for when you have a fussy baby who gives you no time to yourself. Also it’s long wearing but you will probably get shiny and need to touch up on powder later in the day. It won’t melt off your face or patch up though. Also it’s free of mineral oil so I don’t have to worry about breaking out! Yay! 

Overall I give this product a B. It really delivers on coverage, longevity and ease of application  but doesn’t live up to its other claims. Bonus points for being cruelty-free!

Leave a Reply

